You Got Russian Spam!

by

Spam is nothing new. The first spam I ever received was in the late 80s. Back then I was running a C=64 with a 300 baud pocket modem. (as far as speed goes, that is about 30 CPS (that is characters per second. That’s a whopping 1920 BITS per second! To make sure you are all following with modern terms, that’s the equivilent to 0.000001920 MegaBits!). So needless to say, getting spam REALLY wasted bandwidth.

See, people think nothing of bandwidth because it’s ‘unlimited’ so some SPAM may be annoying but never really think of the cost of such things. When I was running a BBS and a Network, I had to have my computer dial a long distance call to get the new posts from places like FidoNet and such. See I paid for that call, and long distance wasn’t cheap in the 80s! I never asked any of my board users to pay. I did it because I loved what I was doing. Those who used my board reaped the benefits but as it was a big community back then and everyone put in their own time and money for the love of it. No one liked someone who purposely added extra costs to our hobby. This is why I am so particularly ticked when someone sends me useless drivel to my inbox….even more so when it is someone I know. While my monthly cost for my Internet may be fix, now my time is being severely waste.

This brings us to the modern age of the ‘global village’. We now get SPAM from all over the world and in a variety of languages. Here is a prime example:

Submitted on 2009/07/01 at 5:53pm

тулья, Мягкая мебель и Мебель корпусная. ООО «Балтик Хауз». Уголок. Представляем Вашему вниманию высококачественную корпусную и

мягкую мебель, а именно спальни, обеденные столы и стулья, гостиные от ведущих производителей Литвы.

Chairs, soft furniture and furniture is hull. [OOO] “Baltic region House”. Corner. We present to your attention high-quality hull

and soft furniture, namely bedroom, dinner tables and chairs, drawing rooms from the chief producers of Lithuania.

http://babelfish.yahoo.com/

Would you really buy furniture from a spam message? These guys don’t care who the email goes to. Did you know that if a spammer for a 1% response (from the 100’s of thousands emails sent) that is a GOOD response? Pretty sad.

This is also why every, single comment on this blog is moderated. I won’t be wasting YOUR time in reading such drivel. WordPress has an awesome tool for catching such crap and make sure what goes up is clean material. I could care less if you swear or differ in opinion….don’t waste my space with spam.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “You Got Russian Spam!”

  1. The Jaded Tech Says:

    With all the translators online, you’d think that if someone was gonna spam me (hence the ‘amateurgirls’ names, you’d at least do it in English.

    Translation:

    “It is very interesting!!! Only greatly I cannot understand as frequently it renews your [blog]?.”

    So I got an interesting blog but he can’t understand it?? Geeze….

Leave a Reply

